Sales and the Introvert

I am an introvert. Not so quiet or shy I won’t talk to people. But, I am very happy being by myself and I never need to be the center of attention.

f3b32b5c692b2a54e3445d2fffba64a4

 

via pinterest

How then did I end up in a business that requires approaching others?  Even though I have an online presence I have recently begun (again) to do events.  I have to stand all day, smile and talk to strangers.

I do not talk about myself to others so when I see a potential customer I look at them and I can almost always find something to get them to talk about.  I have read that introverts are good listeners and I have found that anyone will talk to me.  This past weekend I learned about one woman’s plans to move to Florida, another woman’s sensitivity to metals (might have been an overshare) and much, much more.  I have learned to use my personality to my advantage.  People want to be heard, they want someone to listen and care about what they are saying.  I am good at that.  Will it get me more sales? It helps I am sure.

When you are on the quiet side it takes more effort to put yourself out there.  There are times that I think, “I could just not go.” But, every time I do that and fight my urge to stay home I have a successful time. Plus, I always seem to meet the most interesting personalities.

In the article, 6 Secret Weapons of Shy Entrepreneurs J. Whitmore gives a list for my type to find success. I particularly liked 5. Show Genuine Passion and 6. Push Outside Your Comfort Zone.  Check out the article and let me know what you think and let me know what you are doing.

96e6d7debe0183b083da59a16fcc3bf7

 

via indulgy

Cheers,

Jane

 

 

 

About Jane Told Me

Busy bee like you. Two businesses and 3 kids. Still taking time to learn and share my experiences with you!
Aside | This entry was posted in entrepenuer, Life, Self Esteem, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

