Notes on a Notebook

Last week a package arrived on my doorstep from Amazon. Not such a big deal perhaps. BUT, inside this small cardboard box was my new notebook.

My new paper notebook! I love that feeling of having a new clean slate to fill – like that first day of school when everything is crisp and fresh.

cdef5d9be41b657a05e5ddd4870f0fda

Yes, I am a true believer in writing things down, drawing things out, capturing moments, inking out a game plan.  I like the feeling of getting organized with pen and paper.  Already entrenched and deeply reliant on my computer and iPad mini (affectionately named Fuji) I still relish the simplicity of scribing.

“Over the last 10 years we have moved from being connected to being hyperconnected with the promise that with increased connectedness would come, among other things, increased productivity. Somehow, we’ve bought into the assumption that there exists a linear relationship between success and connectivity, but often the exact opposite is the case.” Greg McKeown

I was sent years ago to a Franklin Planner seminar to learn their system for organizing everyday and business tasks. It was really beneficial to me and although I no longer have an actual F.P. binder I still follow the points learned.  For instance, I keep two pages clear on which I write down by date any important occurrences. That way I can scan that page instead of having to go through every single other page to find one thing. The greatest thing to me is that my notebooks have become more than just a calendar. They have become a record of my business, the personal and professional side of it. They have captured the “coffee chats,” the new ideas, the dreams and friends I have found along the way.  They are the emotions and colors of my life.

IMG_0518My most recent gem

 Many paper notebooks have settled into my hands over the years. I have tried rhodia, composition notebooks, spiral notebooks, moleskins, binders I created myself and more.  There are so many out there to choose from and we all have our personal preferences. For instance, I know that my notebook cannot be too long. I do not need to carry a hardback book style. Perhaps this is because I am an entrepreneur and I relish change. Or maybe it is because no matter how study the book I will love it to death before the last page.  Also, I like stickers and I want to decorate my writing space.

So, in my little amazon box I found three new Moleskin notebooks.  I took them out and set two aside.  With the other I sat down, numbered my pages and put the date on page 1. April 16,2014 – new adventures with my new sidekick.  Off to find some new stickers!

“Isn’t it mysterious to begin a new journal like this? I can run my fingers through the fresh clean pages but I cannot guess what the writing on them will be.” Maud Hart Lovelace, Betsy in Spite of Herself

Do you have a favorite notebook? I am always looking for the next one so please share!

Cheers,

Jane

About Jane Told Me

Busy bee like you. Two businesses and 3 kids. Still taking time to learn and share my experiences with you!
This entry was posted in entrepenuer, Lifestyle, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

