Say “Cheese”

2a7c17624f67e64b3f4c8b51e5c6ec70
I bit the bullet and had some photos taken of me a couple of weeks ago. I decided it was time. Sitting here I am trying to remember the last time I had a professional photographer tell me to smile or stop talking (typical).  It was probably my brother’s wedding over 10 years ago. We affectionately called that picture lady the “photo police” because she was militant in her approach.  A real lack of the “fun” gene.

I had a fun experience at the Arboretum in Los Angeles with Monica of Monica Linda Photography. She exudes a warm and creative vibe that made the time fly. Plus, my best friend was there too. We have been besties since we were 10.  She is a blessing in my life, she really is.

The problem?  I look at the pictures and the first reaction is “Good gravy, the years have not been kind!” Then I ask, “Why am I doing this to myself?”  I read an article years and years (mapped nicely in my face) ago in some magazine about a test of women’s impressions of themselves.  It took place at a beach and random women were asked to be photographed and then without seeing their pictures they had to pick another woman on the beach that they believed had their same body type. The majority of the ladies chose someone who was at least 15 pounds heavier than they were.  I am pretty sure I would do the same. I am not proud of that.

JanePP_Edited-10 copyMy BFF, Austyn Wells,  also has taught me that when I say something negative about myself then I have to say two nice things about myself.  This has been a great practice but one I sometimes forget to do.  In fact, I need to do it now, don’t I?

Let’s be nicer to ourselves. We have enough to battle every day without our own negative chatter in our heads. Try the “2 Nice Things” approach the next time you are hard on yourself – it really helps.

Cheers and Say “Cheese,”

Jane

 

About Jane Told Me

Busy bee like you. Two businesses and 3 kids. Still taking time to learn and share my experiences with you!
Aside | This entry was posted in Life, Lifestyle, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

