When Did I Get That Old?

It was an atypical day in my Crossfit class as I was the only one in it. This was to my benefit because I was able to get some great 1 on 1 coaching on some lifts and my very  “interesting” rowing technique. I row like a hamster on a wheel. Kind of frantic and silly.  I am getting better though!

So, the coach I had is new to the box but has been coaching for a while elsewhere. He is very good.  However, I am a little older and he approached me as if I was an old lady.  Offering to help me up off the floor or carrying my weights for me.  I know he was trying to be kind but I took it as an affront.  I am determined in Crossfit to always try my best and never complain. I DO NOT want unsolicited help because someone perceives me as too old or incapability of taking care of myself.  I have been in 3 Crossfit competitions and I am hoping to do more. I love it.

I am not sure of when the tide turned in the public’s view of me as someone who needs “assistance.”  I always say my thank you’s and smile but inside I am saying, “What the f*^$#? Do I look like I need it?”

Someday I will need the kindness others are showing me and I will take it.  I just wish it was not assumed that I need it today 🙂 I exercise to enhance my life today and in the future.  It is so very important to me.

396756_10150475509932676_22565487675_8922038_1661980230_n

This athlete is 83 years old and deadlifting 153 lbs!

174f9587216febf79bd468dabfe4833f

74 and fit!

I will still be moving in the 60’s, 70’s, 80’s and on if I get the chance.  Take advantage of your life and your health and keep moving!

Cheers,

Jane

About Jane Told Me

Busy bee like you. Two businesses and 3 kids. Still taking time to learn and share my experiences with you!
This entry was posted in Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

