1 Expo, 3 Women and Some Sage Advice

I am back from a busy and FUN weekend in Houston, Texas.

This was my first event with one of my businesses and the first one I have ever done out of state.  It went really really well and I met some very nice locals.  What a friendly city!

I was able to see or listen to three speakers at the Ultimate Women’s Expo; Nene Leakes, Tabitha Coffey and Niecy Nash.  Three powerful women who each left a piece of sage advice for me to share with you all.

Nene Leakes looked AMAZING. She has a style that compliments her confidence and positive energy. She spoke about the times when she feels down. Especially those times when hurtful words from others really cut deep.  She talked about the tears shed at home out of the public eye and she reminded the audience that you may be down today but you will be up tomorrow. I love that positive “moving forward” mentality.  She is a bright light.

IMG_2896.JPG

Tabitha Coffey, who has a new book “Own it! Be the Boss of your life – – at home and in the workplace”, walked that stage in her signature all black outfit and perfectly coiffed hair.  She walked by my space and I was thrilled – she smiled at everyone, genuinely.  She took the stage and immediately began to speak in a tone we are used to hearing. The voice of a strong confident, SMART woman who knows who she is and appreciates it.  She talked about being called a “bitch” by strangers on the street and how this was not accurate. She went home and came up with acronym for the word and this is it:

photo-6

B.I.T.C.H

Brave, Intelligent, Tenacious, Creative and Honest

Right?!?! I appreciate her ability to create this positive from a perceived negative. Plus she was wearing an amazing pair of Loubitin shoes.

Niecy Nash also has a new book, “It’s Hard to Fight Naked,” about relationships.

photo-5

Spicy, smart and funny she took the stage with a spark and spoke with vivacious energy.  She recounted some of the trials of her life but brought that positive outlook to everything.  Niecy reminded the audience that when we make decisions to make a change in our lives and take that first leap or step and if all hell breaks loose we are on the right path.  That is true for me! Because when you make a change everything shifts and it can be a terrific and fun ride if you let it.

I am so grateful I was able to hear these ladies speak. If you get the chance to listen to them or read their books, DO!

Cheers!

Jane

About Jane Told Me

Busy bee like you. Two businesses and 3 kids. Still taking time to learn and share my experiences with you!
This entry was posted in entrepenuer, Life, Lifestyle, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

