Anger Balls Are People Too

photo-5This past week I have encountered several very angry people. They were not upset with me but felt I would be empathetic to their rants.  I am a good listener and I tend to be quiet when someone is pissed off. My experience has taught me that an angry person has closed ears and eyes.  This makes it difficult for others to be heard.

The things I was hearing were reactions to actions of others.  A teacher was late to a class, a coach missed someone doing the wrong weight etc. “Anger and aggression are often the product of frustration and a feeling of powerlessness.  . . .” (author unknown).” Defusing Anger in Others

I know that what I am hearing is often the result of something else.  We are deep beings with many layers of experiences, relationships and histories that impact the way we deal with changes and others.  Before reacting take a moment to think about why you feel your temperature rising and heart beat picking up pace. Anger is a valid emotion and I am not saying you should never be angry but instead really listen to why you feel angry.

I have found that allowing a space for these “blips” is crucial to remaining happy and peaceful.  So, I finally spoke up and stated this to one of the “anger balls” and I found it helped.  More importantly I hope this practice of mine is remembered and practiced too. That “Pay It Forward” mentality is so healthy for all of us.

If someone cuts you off on the road this week before you yell, name call or shake your fist take a deep breath, allow the other person this “blip” and drive on in a healthier and kinder state of being.

Cheers,

Jane

About Jane Told Me

Busy bee like you. Two businesses and 3 kids. Still taking time to learn and share my experiences with you!
This entry was posted in Life, Lifestyle, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

