SO Happy I Met Her

I am in Vegas!

Walking MAGIC Market Week for three days is tiring but so fulfilling.

“MAGIC MARKET WEEK is the largest global market week for contemporary men’s and women’s apparel, footwear and sourcing and the most comprehensive destination for fashion buyers and brands in the world. Every February and August, the industry gathers in Las Vegas for inspiration, connection and to shop a portfolio of 10 expertly merchandised and curated shows across every category, trend and price point. In fueling the business of fashion, MAGIC MARKET WEEK impacts what the world will be wearing.”

tumblr_n18z8qywrM1sgc9byo1_500

Day 1 at MAGIC

I tried to write my Wednesday blog before I left but I had no good ideas so I left it to the stars.

Yesterday I saw so much that by the end of the day it was all starting to blur together.  I was by myself so I walked the entire Las Vegas Convention Center, found some great new lines to carry and attended a pretty informative seminar on Social Media.  BUT, the highlight was discovering that Busayo Olupona was there!  I wrote about her in my “Failure is an Option” blog and I have her article saved in my Pocket because she is like so many of us. She faced some struggles but she kindly and honestly shared her experience.

olowo_l

Olowo by Busayo

I hustled over to the other HUGE hall in the LVCC to the Emerging Designers section. Yes, she was there with her amazingly beautiful designs.  I walked right up and showed her that I keep her story and read it often. I told her that I really respected her sharing for her experience with everyone and for not giving up on her dream. Also, I assured her I was not a stalker or crazy! We shared info and I wished her much success.

tumblr_mqk2fhuzGc1qdxaano2_500

“Busayo simply means ‘addition to our joy’ in Yoruba (Western Nigeria). The collection celebrates the diversity of African prints by re-imagining these innovative and vibrant textiles in contemporary shapes. Find us atwww.busayonyc.com.” Find her on Facebook

What a treat to let someone know they have made a difference and their voice was heard. Well, time to get ready to put on my shoes and head on out the door one step at a time.

Have a Wonderful Day!

Jane

About Jane Told Me

Busy bee like you. Two businesses and 3 kids. Still taking time to learn and share my experiences with you!
This entry was posted in entrepenuer, Life, Lifestyle, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SO Happy I Met Her

  1. Tussy26 says:

    I just saw this blog post, was looking at the coverage from Magic, please keep in touch, Jane. It was such a pleasure meeting you.

Leave a Reply

