When Can I Say No?

It is late on thursday and I have had a busy week!

I have mentioned how I spent the end of 2013.  The benefit of taking that time is I have gained a better “No” response.

I am a doer and I tend to just go, go, go. This makes me very happy – it suits my soul. But, I am practicing being more mindful of what I am “go”ing towards.

838b058fa21cc50a269ca2ff401c7b6bJane Told Me is on Pinterest!

A very good friend of mine has taught me to think in terms of “added value.”  There is so much for all of us to do every day. Especially when you add kids into the mix.  Therefore, I ask myself, whether it is for my businesses or me personally, “Is this an added value to my life?”

Will it improve my situation? Will it help another improve their life?

For example, in the last week I have had to make several big decisions and I finally took time to think about my response before I made a “go ahead” decision.

1. A series of conventions that I have a chance to be a part of. The end result was a positive “Added Value” for me.  It will benefit my business and my personal life. I will meet other entrepreneurs and be able to spread the public’s awareness of my brand.

2. My friend came into town with her Mother – whom I ADORE.  I was coming back into town myself having just visited my Mother.  I had gone home to participate in the Hot Chocolate 5k in San Francisco’s Golden Gate Park.  SUPER FUN! I had a lot of work to do but I decided to spend time with these two remarkable ladies.  The pay back was immeasurable and I am SO happy I took this time with them.

3. I was asked to participate in a craft show and where as I used to jump in I am now at the point where the wear and tear on myself and my merchandise outweighs the benefits of being there. A simple, “No, thank you but please keep me in mind in the future” was easy to say.

saying no

Allison Wyn

Allison created this for her Mother who says “Yes” to everything.

There were more, as I mentioned, it was a busy week. But the point is I am making an effort to be better. If to be better I need to say, “no” (however, always politely) then I will.  The positive effects for myself and everyone else around me should be exactly what my 2014 needs.

Cheers,

Jane

About Jane Told Me

Busy bee like you. Two businesses and 3 kids. Still taking time to learn and share my experiences with you!
This entry was posted in entrepenuer, Lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When Can I Say No?

  1. kiamyk says:

    This is great! Sometimes we become busy with so many things that won’t add value to our lives. Thank God we get perspective when we ask for it:)

Leave a Reply

